This site is designed to help bone densitometry candidates prepare for the ARRT Limited Bone Densitometry Equipment Operator Examination for state licensing or the ARRT Registry Examination in Bone Densitometry for national certification.
Candidates for the ARRT Registry Examination in Bone Densitometry for national certification are required to meet the Professional Education Requirements specified in the ARRT Rules and Regulations. ARRT's Bone Densitometry Structured Education Requirements describe the specific eligibility requirements that must be documented as part of the application for certification and registration process.
Candidates for Bone Densitometry certification and registration must document at least 16 hours of structured education through My ARRT Info account on arrt.org. Structured education documentation must include at least 1 CE credit in each of these content areas: Patient Care, Image Production, and Procedures, for a total of at least 16 hours.
To obtain a license to operate Bone Densitometry (BD) equipment in Tennessee, one must:
(1) be 18 years of age and have a high school or GED diploma, (2) satisfactorily complete a state -approved 24-hour Bone Densitometry course, (3) receive machine training from the manufacturer (or authorized representative) or by a person holding a TN license in Bone Densitometry who has received machine-specific training by the manufacturer, and (4) pass the ARRT Bone Densitometry Equipment Operator Exam for state licensing. Note: ARRT Registered Technologists (RTs) who did not have a Tennessee x-ray license prior to July 1, 2006 and who perform Bone Densitometry in a physician’s office in Tennessee are required to either: (a) pass the ARRT Bone Densitometry Certification Exam for RTs, or (b) go through steps 1-4 above for a Tennessee license in Bone Densitometry.
2020 NOTE: The Tennessee Board of Radiologic Imaging and Radiation Therapy has completed updating the x-ray rules for x-ray operators. These proposed new rules will go through a lengthy rulemaking process this year to become law. Here are some of the changes that will immediately affect obtaining and keeping your Bone Densitometry license:
1. The passing score for the limited examinations will change from 65% to 70%.
2. The due date for proof of attendance and completion of the required continuing education hours will be each license holder’s biennial renewal due date.
3. Scope of practice for full licenses will be limited to only the modality in which they are certified. This means all RTs will need a license that includes Bone Densitometry to be able to perform that modality. There will no longer be any exceptions. There will be a 2 year exemption period for anyone working on a modality to upgrade their ARRT license.
4. Required continuing education (CE) will increase to 24 credits.
This site has a Review course with mock tests that will help you study for the examination but does not contain ANY credits at this time. We also offer a 3 day live course in Nashville, TN which consists of 18 hours of structured education. We are working on a video course that will contain all the needed hours.
There is Continuing Education (CE) available for Bone Densitometry and Radiography by clicking the ARRT Cat A CE for Bone Densitometry and Radiography icon above.
Under NAVIGATION on the left, click on Courses to view our current offerings.